Oklahoma earns top seed as NCAA softball tournament bracket unveiled

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Let the ‘Mayhem’ begin.

The NCAA announced the 64 Division I softball teams that were selected to compete in the 2023 tournament on Sunday, as each eyes the ultimate prize – a trip to the Women’s Colllege World Series in Oklahoma City.

Sixteen teams will host double-elimination regionals, beginning Friday, and the top eight teams will host best-of-three super regionals the following weekend. Those winners will advance to the double-elimination WCWS, beginning June 1, until only two teams remain to battle in the championship series, June 7-9.

After another absolutely dominant season, Oklahoma earned the No. 1 overall seed for the fourth consecutive NCAA tournament and fifth time since 2007. The Sooners have won the past two Women’s Colllege World Series and have six titles overall since 2000.

Oklahoma (51-1) comes into the postseason on a 43-game winning streak, the second-longest in NCAA history. Arizona holds the record with 47 consecutive wins in 1996-97.

UCLA (52-5) earned the No. 2 overall seed and will seek to add to its record 12 national championships. The Bruins, who won the first-ever NCAA softball tournament in 1982, are the only program to have won at least one softball championship in each of the first four decades.

Here is everything you need to know for the 2023 NCAA Division I softball tournament:

Who are the top 16 seeds?

No. 1 Oklahoma (51-1)No. 2 UCLA (52-5)No. 3 Florida State (50-8)No. 4 Tennessee (44-8)No. 5 Alabama (40-18)No. 6 Oklahoma State (41-14)No. 7 Washington (38-12)No. 8 Duke (45-10)No. 9 Stanford (40-13)No. 10 LSU (40-15)No. 11 Arkansas (38-17)No. 12 Northwestern (38-11)No. 13 Texas (42-13-1)No. 14 Georgia (39-13)No. 15 Utah (37-13)No. 16 Clemson (46-9)

When are the dates for regionals?

Regionals run from Friday, May 19 through Sunday, May 21 at 16 host schools. All times below are Eastern.

Norman, Oklahoma Regional


No. 1 Oklahoma vs. Hofstra, 5 p.m. ET (ESPNU)

Missouri vs. California, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

Los Angeles Regional


No. 2 UCLA vs. Grand Canyon, 8 p.m. (ESPN+)

San Diego State vs. Liberty, 11 p.m. (ESPNU)

Tallahassee, Florida Regional


No. 3 Florida State vs. Marist, 4 p.m. (ESPN+)

Central Florida vs. South Carolina, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)

Knoxville, Tennessee Regional


Louisville vs. Indiana, 3 p.m. (ESPN2)

No. 4 Tennessee vs. Northern Kentucky, 5:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

Tuscaloosa, Alabama Regional


Middle Tennessee vs. Central Arkansas, 4:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

No. 5 Alabama vs. Long Island University, 7 p.m. (ESPN+)

Stillwater, Oklahoma Regional


No. 6 Oklahoma State vs. Maryland-Baltimore County, 4 p.m. (ESPN+)

Nebraska vs. Wichita State, 7 p.m. (ESPNU)

Seattle Regional


Minnesota vs. McNeese State, 6:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

No. 7 Washington vs. Northern Colorado, 9 p.m. (ESPN+)

Durham, North Carolina Regional


No. 8 Duke vs. George Mason, Noon (ACC Network)

Campbell vs. Charlotte, 2:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

Stanford, California Regional


Florida vs. Loyola Marymount, 6 p.m. (ESPN+)

No. 9 Stanford vs. Long Beach State, 9 p.m. (ESPNU)

Baton Rouge, Louisiana Regional


Omaha vs. Louisiana-Lafayette, 3 p.m. (ESPN+)

No. 10 LSU vs. Prairie View A&M, 6 p.m. (SEC Network)

Fayetteville, Arkansas Regional


Oregon vs. Notre Dame, 5 p.m. (ESPN2)

No. 11 Arkansas vs. Harvard, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

Evanston, Illinois Regional


Kentucky vs. Miami (Ohio), 1 p.m. (SEC Network)

No. 12 Northwestern vs. Eastern Illinois, 3:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

Austin, Texas Regional


No. 13 Texas vs. Seton Hall, 5 p.m. (Longhorn Network)

Texas State vs. Texas A&M, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

Athens, Georgia Regional


Virginia Tech vs. Boston University, 2 p.m. (ACC Network)

No. 14 Georgia vs. North Carolina Central, 4:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

Salt Lake City Regional


Mississippi vs. Baylor, 1 p.m. (ESPNU)

No. 15 Utah vs. Southern Illinois, 3:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

Clemson, South Carolina Regional


No. 16 Clemson vs. UNC-Greensboro, 3 p.m. (ESPNU)

Cal State-Fullerton vs. Auburn, 5:30 p.m. (ESPN+)

What are the dates for the super regionals?

Super regionals, which will will be held either May 25-27 or May 26-28, feature the 16 teams that won regionals the weekend before.

What is the schedule for Women’s College World Series

The eight-team Women’s Colllege World Series, featuring the eight super regional winners, begins Thursday, June 1 at USA Softball Hall of Fame Stadium in Oklahoma City. The best-of-three championship series begins Wednesday, June 7.

This post appeared first on USA TODAY